Although texting while driving is bad enough on it’s own. If you get a ticket for it, that can cause your auto insurance company to raise your insurance rates. It’s bad if your at fault for an accident, but if you were texting, you’re in for a rough time.
State laws on texting
Out of the 50 states in the United States, 46 have completely banned texting while driving. It is a primary enforcement violation, that police officers can issue citations when they see someone texting and driving. However just because you get a ticket for texting when driving, doesn’t automatically mean your insurance will go up. It will depend on the state’s laws. Every insurance company calculates its own rates after tickets, that will impact you down the road.
Illinois just recently passed a law in which it became a “hands free” state. This means law enforcement can ticket drivers that involves anything when holding a cellphone or any other electronics. On your first offense you get a $75 fine, $100 on the second, $125 on the third and $150 beyond that.
The fines I mentioned are for Illinois however. Each state has their own law if you’re caught texting. New York’s first ticket is in the range of $50 to $200 plus added fees. You also get violation points on your license and if you get enough they can suspend your license. In California the first fine is $20 but doesn’t go past $50 for any offenses after that. If you don’t want to be caught off guard by the ticket prices, you can look them up on your state’s website.
Don’t text while driving
Bottom line, don’t text while driving. You put not only yourself in danger but also the other drivers on the road. If you text while driving, your eyes are off the road for an average of 4-5 seconds. Not texting will cut down the many distractions that happen while on the road. Plus you don’t want to chance that car insurance goes up. Do yourself a favor and keep your hands on the wheel.