If you are an Uber rideshare driver that depends on the rideshare platform for income, a deactivated driver account can be problematic. There are many reasons why a driver’s account may be deactivated, and it is important to know the top reasons drivers get deactivated to avoid the situation.
The top reasons Uber drivers get deactivated are:
When a driver’s ratings are below 4.6, drivers are placed under quality review. If Uber drivers do not improve their star ratings, their accounts will be deactivated.
Documents are not up-to-date
Important documents that need to be up-to-date in order to drive for Uber are driver’s licenses, proof of liability auto insurance required by the state, car registration and car inspections. If the reason drivers are deactivated are expired documents, this is a quick fix and they should expect to be reactivated soon after they have uploaded the current paperwork.
Uber conducts yearly background checks on rideshare drivers. If anything comes up on a background check that disqualifies drivers from driving for Uber, their accounts will be deactivated.
Some drivers cancel rides after accepting them avoid a low ride acceptance rates. To combat this trend, Uber will deactivate driver accounts if drivers cancel too many rides.
Violate the Code of Conduct
Rideshare drivers that do not adhere to Uber’s Code of Conduct will be deactivated. Behaviors that are not tolerated under Uber’s Code of Conduct include:
- violent or inappropriate behavior
- drug and alcohol use
- any illegal behavior
Unsafe driving and serious complaints
Rideshare drivers may also be deactivated if passengers report unsafe driving or feeling uncomfortable while in their cars back to Uber.
Drivers are forbidden from having unwanted contact with passengers after dropping them off. If a driver tries to contact passengers without their consent, their Uber account will be deactivated.
Dishonesty will also get an Uber driver deactivated. Types of rideshare driver dishonesty include:
- increasing the time and or distance of a trip
- creating fake accounts
- claiming fraudulent fees
- accepting fake trips
Driving with passengers
For safety reasons, drivers are not allowed to have other passengers in their cars while driving for Uber.
Allowing other drivers to use your account
Rideshare drivers are not allowed to share accounts.
Providing false information
If rideshare drivers purposely share false information about themselves or their cars, their accounts will be deactivated and more than likely not reactivated.
If drivers have not logged into their Uber accounts in a while, their accounts are deactivated but may be reactivated by contacting Uber and making sure their documents are up-to-date.